BREKO Broadband Study

BREKO BroadbandStudy 21

BREKO Broadband Study 2021: Record investments in fibre deployment meet great demand among the population.

•            8.3 million fibre connections available, the fibre rate increases to 17.7%

•            Positive investment climate: € 43 billion for deployment until 2025

•            Demand for fibre connections is increasing an

•            Third place for Germany in fibre connections growth in Europe

Together with the renowned telecommunications expert and economist Prof. Dr. Jens Böcker, the German Broadband Association BREKO presented its current analysis on the state of fibre deployment in Germany. In all key data there was a positiv development. The further increase in demand and ever stronger growth in data consumption support the need to expand fibre-optic networks as a future-proof and sustainable digital infrastructure. The high willingness to invest on the part of established and new market players will continue to ensure strong growth in fibre-optic connections in the coming years. In order to further increase the speed of expansion, the next federal government is called upon to further improve the framework conditions.

BREKO Broadband Study 20

4 Bilder

Fiber rollout continues to gain pace - BREKO market analysis20 shows: Alternative network operators are driving fiber rollout in Germany

Published: 01 September 2020

The German Broadband Communications Association (BREKO), together with renowned telecommunications expert and economist Prof. Dr. Jens Böcker, today presented jointly collected market data on the current situation in the telecommunications market. The results show a positive development of fiber optic expansion in Germany. The number of available fiber-optic connections, demand for fast Internet, and investments in expansion are rising. The drivers of this development continue to be the alternative network operators.

BREKO Broadband Study 19

BREKO network operators with record investments in future-proof fiber optic networks

Published: August 21, 2019

The German Broadband Communications Association (BREKO), together with renowned telecommunications expert and economist Prof. Dr. Jens Böcker, today presented the jointly collected market data on the current situation in the telecommunications market. Positive message and clear signal: the now more than 190 network operators of BREKO invested more in the telecommunications market in 2018 than ever before: they made investments of around EUR 2.5 billion - and thus significantly exceeded the BREKO's previous year's forecast (EUR 2.2 billion). 80 percent of the network expansion is being carried out on the company's own initiative without government subsidies. A particularly important finding of the market analysis is that fixed-network lines will not be replaced by mobile communications in the future either!

BREKO Broadband Study 18

Strong growth in data volumes expected in the fixed network. Expansion with fiber optics essential.

Published: September 26, 2018

The BREKO Broadband Study 2018 shows: The new German government's focus on future-proof fiber is consistent - it is the only way to give our country the best digital infrastructure and thus the basis for growth and prosperity.

Now, politicians and regulators must focus on three important levers in particular to push nationwide fiber rollout even more strongly: the needs-based further development of the federal subsidy program including the introduction of vouchers for future-proof fiber connections to further boost demand, the urgently needed reform of the DigiNetz Act to prevent harmful over/double rollout, and diversity and competition in future 5G mobile communications through a service provider obligation and regionally allocated frequencies to generate further investment funds for fiber rollout.

BREKO in English

Unfortunately, this page is only available in German at the moment. You can find information about BREKO in English at BREKO European Office.

BREKO Marktanalyse

BREKO Marktanalyse 21

BREKO Marktanalyse 2021: Rekordinvestitionen in den Glasfaserausbau treffen auf große Nachfrage in der Bevölkerung

•            8,3 Mio. Glasfaseranschlüsse verfügbar, Glasfaserquote steigt auf 17,7 Prozent

•            Positives Investitionsklima: 43 Milliarden Euro für den Netzausbau bis 2025

•            Nachfrage nach Glasfaseranschlüssen steigt weiter an

•            Platz 3 für Deutschland beim Glasfaserwachstum in Europa

Zusammen mit dem Telekommunikationsexperten und Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Jens Böcker hat der Bundesverband Breitbandkommunikation (BREKO) die aktuelle Analyse zum Stand des Glasfaserausbaus in Deutschland vorgestellt. Bei allen wichtigen Eckdaten ist eine positive Entwicklung zu verzeichnen. Die weiter steigende Nachfrage und ein immer stärkeres Wachstum beim Datenverbrauch stützen die Notwendigkeit des Ausbaus von Glasfasernetzen als zukunftssichere und nachhaltige digitale Infrastruktur. Die hohe Investitionsbereitschaft von etablierten und neuen Marktteilnehmern wird auch in den nächsten Jahren für ein kräftiges Wachstum bei Glasfaseranschlüssen sorgen. Um die Ausbaugeschwindigkeit weiter zu erhöhen, ist die nächste Bundesregierung gefordert, die Rahmenbedingungen weiter zu verbessern.

BREKO Marktanalyse 20

4 Bilder

Glasfaserausbau gewinnt weiter an Tempo - BREKO Marktanalyse20 zeigt: Alternative Netzbetreiber sind Motor des Glasfaserausbaus in Deutschland

Veröffentlicht: 01. September 2020

Der Bundesverband Breitbandkommunikation (BREKO) hat heute zusammen mit dem renommierten Telekommunikationsexperten und Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Jens Böcker die gemeinsam erhobenen Marktdaten zur aktuellen Lage auf dem Telekommunikationsmarkt vorgestellt. Die Ergebnisse zeigen eine positive Entwicklung des Glasfaserausbaus in Deutschland. Die Anzahl der verfügbaren Glasfaseranschlüsse, die Nachfrage nach schnellem Internet sowie die Investitionen in den Ausbau steigen. Die Treiber dieser Entwicklung sind weiterhin die alternativen Netzbetreiber.

BREKO Marktanalyse19

Netzbetreiber der BREKO mit Investitionsrekord in zukunftssichere Glasfasernetze

Veröffentlicht: 21. August 2019

Der Bundesverband Breitbandkommunikation (BREKO) hat heute zusammen mit dem renommierten Telekommunikationsexperten und Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Jens Böcker die gemeinsam erhobenen Marktdaten zur aktuellen Lage auf dem Telekommunikationsmarkt vorgestellt. Positive Botschaft und klares Signal: Die mittlerweile mehr als 190 Netzbetreiber des BREKO haben 2018 so viel in den Telekommunikationsmarkt investiert wie noch nie: Sie leisteten Investitionen von rund 2,5 Milliarden Euro – und übertrafen die Vorjahresprognose des BREKO (2,2 Milliarden Euro) damit deutlich. 80 Prozent des Netzausbaus werden eigenwirtschaftlich ohne staatliche Fördermittel realisiert. Besonders wichtige Erkenntnis der Marktanalyse: Festnetzanschlüsse werden auch künftig nicht durch den Mobilfunk ersetzt!

BREKO Breitbandstudie18

Stark steigendes Datenvolumen im Festnetz erwartet. Ausbau mit Glasfaser unerlässlich.

Veröffentlicht: 26. September 2018

Die BREKO Breitbandstudie 2018 zeigt: Die Ausrichtung der neuen Bundesregierung auf zukunftssichere Glasfaser ist konsequent – nur so bekommt unser Land die beste digitale Infrastruktur und damit die Grundlage für Wachstum und Wohlstand.

Nun müssen Politik und Regulierer den Fokus insbesondere auf drei wichtige Stellschrauben richten, um den flächendeckenden Glasfaserausbau noch stärker zu forcieren: die bedarfsgerechte Weiterentwicklung des Bundesförderprogramms samt der Einführung von Gutscheinen für zukunftssichere Glasfaseranschlüsse zur weiteren Ankurbelung der Nachfrage, die dringend erforderliche Reform des DigiNetz-Gesetzes zur Verhinderung schädlichen Über/Doppelausbaus sowie Vielfalt und Wettbewerb im künftigen 5G-Mobilfunk durch eine Diensteanbieterverpflichtung und regional vergebene Frequenzen, um so weitere Investitionsmittel für den Glasfaserausbau zu erwirtschaften.

BREKO in English

Unfortunately, this page is only available in German at the moment. You can find information about BREKO in English at BREKO European Office.